AIMA / NAS Training Course


Study Maritime Archaeology

AIMA, in conjunction with the Nautical Archaeology Society (NAS - United Kingdom), teaches a 4-part course on maritime archaeology. This internationally recognised course is currently run in the UK, South Africa, Canada, Micronesia and the USA - among other places.

NAS is an international society based in the UK and one of its stated aims is to advance education in maritime archaeology at all levels. NAS has put this into practice by teaching a structured training scheme open to both divers and non-divers. It was designed and developed by archaeologists and recreational divers working together, and has proven to be an effective way to learn basic archaeological skills for use underwater.

The general aim of the course is to introduce the methods and procedures used in maritime archaeology, as well as to generate awareness of shipwreck preservation in Australia. On completion of each of the courses, students are awarded an AIMA/NAS certificate which is internationally recognised.

4 Part

Course Modules

Part I.

A 2-day introduction to maritime archaeology that includes at least 8 hours of classroom work in addition to practical work that may be carried out underwater and/or on land.

Part II.

The attendance of a Survey Day School or lecture series; the equivalent of two days attendance at archaeology conferences; and the completion of a short project.

Part III.

The accumulation of 100 contact hours of tuition* in six or seven subject areas.

The 100 contact hours can be accrued through special field schools of one or more weeks and/or through a number of weekend workshops.

(*tuition does not have to be through an academic institution such as a university)

Part IV.

The presentation of an extended portfolio of work on an approved subject/project, including a report to publication standard.

The Part IV graduate will also have to complete a minimum of 12 weeks of archaeological work on at least three sites since beginning Part II.